Educating Cities: principles for quality education

In 1990, a group of cities agreed on a set of principles aimed at the development and education of its inhabitants, during the first International Congress of Educating Cities. Since then, the concept has gained strength, launched the International Association of Educating Cities and now has 493 associated cities in 37 countries around the world.

Here in Brazil, 14 municipalities are considered Educating Cities: Belo Horizonte (MG), Caxias do Sul, Santiago and Porto Alegre (RS), Guarulhos, Mauá, Santos, São Carlos, Santo André, São Bernardo do Campo, São Paulo and Sorocaba (SP), Horizonte (CE) and Vitória (ES). That means that their public policies comply with the principles outlined in the Charter of Educating Cities, which seek economic and sustainable development, together with social justice, and are aligned with the UN Sustainable Development Goals.

By joining, the city compromises to promote education that favors diversity and cooperation, stimulate students’ skills in order to improve their quality of life and social justice, stimulate innovation, provide equipment and services for social, moral and social development. cultural diversity of its inhabitants, guarantee citizens the right to participate in the development of educational initiatives, among others.

To know all 20 principles of the Charter of Educating Cities, read the full Portuguese text here.  And to check out the full list of cities, visit the International Association of Educating Cities website.

also read

What do students think about entrepreneurship? Get to know the main findings of Juventude Conectada research
Keep Reading
Perestroika: 5 creativity lesson in education
Keep Reading
​​​​​​​How the creative economy impacts the job market and education
Keep Reading

Quer ficar sabendo de tudo antes? Assine a
newsletter e receba novidades no seu e-mail.

área restrita